Rami A. Ahmed, DO, FACEP
Fellowship Director
Simulation Medical Director, Summa Health System
Simulation Medical Director, ABIA
Dr. Rami Ahmed completed a one-year fellowship in medical simulation at the Gilbert Program in Medical Simulation at Harvard Medical School, and was honored with the “Donald O’Hara PhD Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching” for his training of the students in the simulation labs there. Dr. Ahmed is a Harvard Macy Education Scholar and serves as Core Faculty in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Summa Akron City Hospital. Dr. Ahmed currently serves as the Simulation Medical Director for both Summa Health System’s VCSL and for CSIHE at the Austen BioInnovation Institute. Dr. Ahmed is currently completing his Master’s in Health Professions Education (MHPE) at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine.

Michael Holder, MD
Vice President, ABIA
Dr. Michael Holder, Vice President of CSIHE at the Austen BioInnovation Institute in Akron, and a Pediatric Emergency Medicine attending physician at Akron Children’s Hospital, established Akron Children’s multidisciplinary simulation laboratory. Prior to joining ABIA, Dr. Holder was the Director of Medical Education at Akron Children’s Hospital. Dr. Holder is a Master Teacher at NEOMED and is actively involved in the training of Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellows, Emergency Medicine Residents, medical students, and nursing staff with a focus on Crisis Resource Management and team training. Dr. Holder is currently completing his Master’s in Health Professions Education (MHPE) at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine.

S. Scott Atkinson, IT, NREMT-P
Manager, VCSL, Summa Health System
Manager, CSIHE, ABIA
Scott Atkinson, a leading simulation technologist, serves as manager of the simulation labs at both the Summa Health System and Center for Simulation and Integrated Healthcare Education. Scott is a graduate of the Comprehensive Instructor Workshop in Medical Simulation at the Center for Medical Simulation in Boston, MA. Scott currently serves as the chairman of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare SIG Tech group.

Martha Conrad, RN, MSN, CNS
Interprofessional Education Director, ABIA
Director, Learning Resource Center, The University of Akron

Michelle Evancho-Chapman, BS
BioSkills Lab Manager, ABIA
Research Associate/Manager, Summa Center for Pre-Clinical Research and Skills Testing, Summa Health System
As manager of the Applied Surgical Research Unit and Research Associate for the Departments of Surgery and OB/GYN at Summa Health System, Michelle has instructed and supported numerous attending surgeons, residents, PhD, masters and honors thesis candidates. In addition to being a partner and having served as VP for Research for BioMedical Research Associates since its inception in 1995, she holds professional memberships to a number of organizations, including the International Society for Applied Cardiovascular Biology, Society for Biomaterials, and Society for Cardiovascular Pathology, and is published in 28 peer-reviewed publications. Her areas of expertise range from study design, building multidisciplinary collaborative research teams to experience in animal surgery, care and GLP pre-clinical medical device evaluations in animal models.

Adjunct Faculty:

Michelle Blanda, MD, FACEP
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

Erin Broderick, MD
Director, Emergency Ultrasound

Jocelyn Davis, DNP, RN, CNM, C-EFM
OB/GYN and Neonatal Simulation Educator, Staff Development

Dennis Dejulius, MD, FACEP

Timothy Drake, MD, FACOG
OB/GYN Simulation Educator

Jennifer Frey, PhD
Emergency Medicine Research Center

Sharhabeel Jwayyed, MD, M. Med., FACEP
Emergency Medicine Residency Director

Carol Kridler, RN, MSN
Head Simulation Nurse Educator, Staff Development

Peter Listerman, MD, FACEP
Director, Emergency Preparedness/Disaster

Francis Mencl, MD, MS, FACEP
EMS Fellowship Director

Carol Powell, RN
Simulation Nurse Educator

Tara Snyder, BSN
OB/GYN Simulation Nurse Educator

Alison Southern, MD, M. Med., FACEP
Associate Emergency Medicine Residency Director

Sheila Steer, MD, FACEP
Associate EMS Director, Director SANE/DOVE

Kirk Stiffler, MD, MPH, FACEP
Institutional Review Board (IRB) Chair

Scott Wilber, MD, MPH, FACEP
Research Director, Emergency Medicine Research Center